Kansas Sales Tax for Photographers

by Dec 31, 2020Sales Tax


Enroll in Sales Tax 101 for Photographers Now!

To begin you have to ask yourself 3 questions…


let’s first take a look at what each of these sale tax terms means so that you can understand how it pertains to Photographers in Kansas.
These definitions are laid out below.


So, what’s nexus? The term “nexus” is used in tax law to describe a situation in which a business has a tax presence in a particular state. A nexus is basically a connection between the taxing authority and a business that must collect or pay the tax. It’s possible to have nexus in more than one state especially if you travel to another state to shoot. So you want to be sure you understand the laws of each state you work in.


The source indicates where the sales are taxed.

  • Origin-sourced sales are taxed where the seller is located, so this is based on your zip code.
  • Destination-sourced sales are taxed at the location where the buyer takes possession of the item sold.

Also, keep in mind if the client picks up tangible goods from your location or studio, this is the point where the transaction happens. If you mail or ship to the client, it will be by their zip, not yours.


Any physical products sold to a client, items you can touch and hold like prints, albums, frames, etc…


These are digital items delivered electronically via telephone lines, over the internet, by email, or by another alternative form of non-physical transmission.
Beware of digital prints delivered on a physical device such as a thumb drive or CD as these are no longer digital and are now considered physical because you can touch them.
Services are anything needed to produce the end product, such as shooting, editing, culling, touchup, etc…


Services are anything needed to produce the end product, such as shooting, editing, culling, touchup, etc…


This is any shipping charged by you to your client. Third parties such as album companies who dropship or online
galleries where clients can order prints will take care of their own shipping. But if you charge your client shipping,
this is where the shipping rules in this guide apply to you.

Kansas Sales Tax for Photographers

Below are the sales tax requirements for Photographers in Kansas broken out. You will find supporting links and resources at the bottom of this post.

✅Kansas Nexus

Physical presence; providing service in person, having a physical location, a warehouse, inventory, traveling salespeople or representatives, attending trade shows, or taking orders or deposits in person.

✅Kansas Source

Kansas uses destination-based sales tax; this means the tax rate is based on the zip code of the buyer’s address or where the buyer took possession of the final goods.

✅Kansas Physical Goods

Kansas imposes sales tax on physical goods.

✅Kansas Digital goods

Digital goods are not subject to Kansas sales tax.

✅Kansas Services

Services are not taxable in Kansas.

✅Kansas Shipping

Shipping and handling charges are generally taxable in Kansas, whether included in the sale price, separately stated, or billed separately.

📆Monthly liability / Filing Frequency:

$40,000.01 +/ Monthly
$4,000.01—40,000/ Monthly with Prepayment
$400.01—4,000/ Quarterly
$0.00-400.00/ Annual


Due the 25th of the following month



Q1 (JAN – MAR) / APR27
Q2 (APR – JUN) /JUL27
Q3 (JUL – SEP) / OCT26
Q4 (OCT – DEC) /JAN25*(Following year)


JAN-DEC / JAN20 (Following year)


 Iowa Department of Revenue

⭐️LookUp Rates
⭐️Kansas Retailers Sales Tax – Photographers & Photofinishers
⭐️Kansas Department of Revenue – Taxability Guide: Photographers

Have another question you’d like me to add to this list?

Click here to join my free Facebook community Financially Focused Photographers
I go live in this community every week answering all your tax, bookkeeping, and tax questions!

Be sure to follow me on Instagram, Facebook, YouTube, and Pinterest.

– Tiffany Bastian

Hey Photographer!

Grab the Free Guide and Handle Sales Tax Like a Pro!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This